Mixing board questions

mndog75

I was just reading about averagejoes mixingboard dilemma, my question is this,I just bought a yamaha mg10/2 I record into a tascam 100 dollar four track(i am new to this) I understand tracks on the four track as one,two,threeand four, its full control over each track when the button is pushed,on the mixer lines after two are 3/4 5/6 7/8 9/10 and the last two sets have no gain control, I just dont understand the setup?I also have 4 mic inputs now on the first two I have a line in as well as i/o after that things get weird to me, I have no inputs just left and rights.Could someone please breakdown what all these holes are and how I can use them.question two ,Basically I lay down each individual track on the recorder(well I go through the mixer first,I need phantom power)Then back through the mixer to a cd burner. I can tell no difference with or without the mixer. I would love to be able to record my shit and mix ,but I get no different sounds after its been recorded and I run it back through the mixer??? is there a way to add effects on instruments as well as vocals after its already been recorded??

I'm looking into getting a mixer myself and have been wondering the same thing. I also want something that can have an output for each individual track.

mndog75 said: