Mixing Bass

wordizbon

Question. I have decided to jump into recording bass into my tracks.

I have a Fender P bass that I record directly into my Mackie 1604 into Cubase SX via a MOTU 2408. I record dry.

I want to start experimenting with plug ins, eq, dynamic processing, etc. Are there any tricks that I could try out being I have no experience in doing such. Anything I should know (how will this affect the drums.) I would like to make the bass come alive instead of this dead sound I have now. Where do I start?

Experts where are you, show some skills for me will you!!!

I'm not sure on the Mackie but is it really an instrument input? I've got a Behringer and it's always a dull sound plugging straight in but sound right when put through a DI.

Brand new strings are a must for killer bass tones - Especially with passive electronics. In the studio, no more than an hour or two on a set. Once they lose that "piano harp" sound, they're gone.

John Scrip - www.massivemastering.com

Well, it's just like anything else though. It depends on what you're looking for. Electric string instruments (especially bass) generally sound better with brand new strings.

For regular play, I've been using Elixir's - They don't have the *best* tone, but they keep their tone for a long time. For most home & demo recording, they'd be fine 90% of the time if you're using active electronics. A P-Bass though... Trying to get it to cut through tune after tune as the strings get older... That's rough.

Listening to most "non-big-time" albums, one thing you notice on most of them is that the bass guitar tone varies widely - Especially if the player started the session with brand new strings. It's a bee-otch in mixdown, too...

That's why I don't play bass for a living!

But new bass strings has more buzzing sound... how do you overcome that?

(or is it the case of cheap basses only)