mixers vs. interfaces

sewellnc

i am new to recording and looking to buy something to record tracks of my band and i was wondering what the difference was between buying an interface such as the presonus firepod compared to something like buying a Mackie Onyx 1620 16-Channel Mixer. I would be looking to plug both into my hp laptop and use either protools or cubase editing software. Can anyone help me out? And also it says something about using the mixer for live shows. How does this compare to an interface.
Thanks

You posted what's basically this same question in this same forum six hours ago.

That's not good policy and won't get you're question answered any faster.

If you want to use a laptop for recording a full band there are two major things to take into account.

The first --- most laptops have 5400 rpm drives, and depending on the software used that may or may not be enough to record 8 or 12 or 16 tracks at once, depending on the complexity of your microphone setup and the number of players in your band.

The second --- both of the devices you list are Firewire devices and laptops almost universally have 4 pin Firewire input which do not provide power. That means you'll need an external power supply and an adapter cable before you even find out if your laptop is up to the job.

Also, ProTools won't work with the specific units you listed (apart from possibly ProTools Free which you can only do 8 at a time anywho and is somewhat outdated).