Mixdown!

Gainfreak

I am a guitarist and I am just getting back into recording. I was wondering what is the best medium to use for your final mix? Do I need a dat machine or would a standard stereo VCR be a good Idea? Mini disk? or CDRW? I'm not sure how to mixdown to a CDRW or Mini disk!!
As far as equipment goes, i am using a PIII 1 ghz pc with 128 megs ram 40 gig hd. Layla audio card. Mackie 1604vlz mixer.
Any Input would be greatly appreciated!!

Since you already have a decent computer, and it sounds like your tracking with it, CD-RW would be the cheapest/best route of the choices you listed.

Assuming your using some software multitracker, you do your mix and output/export it as a 2 track stereo file. You can then burn this to CD-RW using software, Adaptec EZ-CD, Nero, etc..

More often before burning you would open the 2 track stereo wav file in an editor like Wavelab or Soundforge and edit out noise at the start, end, do fadeouts/in's maybe some compression, EQ, dithering etc. Than save that file and burn it with EZ-CD, Nero etc.

Wavelab is great editor, has built in CD burning and allows to create an audio montage of all the tracks, spacing, order etc.

www.steinberg.net
www.roxio.com

Thanks Emeric!!
I am going to buy a CD-RW!!

For now, i am using cakewalk pro audio 9 to record my guitar tracks and I'm using various drum loops. For Midi Im using a korg 01wfd and I borrowed my friends kurzweil k2000.(He is a lawyer now and doesnt have time to use it!!)
I'm running all audio and midi to the Mackie but
Now I have to figure out how to get the mix back into the PC for the 2 track mixdown! Any suggestions?

Thanks Again!!

If your doing all the mixing of the tracks within Cakewalk, than it should have some type of File/Mixdown, or File Export audio function.