Mix opinions appreciated

Shiny Rhino

Hi,

Here's a new song that I finished up yesterday for a girl who came to me with only chords and vocal melody. She wanted me to produce and compose/arrange all the other instrumentation and gave me the green light to take it in any direction I saw fit. She mentioned "Taylor Swift" so I tried to steer it in that direction.

I'll admit that although I run a small project studio, I'm still learning the art/science of mixing and shine more in the production/composing realm than engineering at this point. So any advice is greatly appreciated.

Clear - Original Song by Justine Lauren Collins

Catchy tune... seems like alot going on though, especially in the chorus. Drums are a bit busy for my taste and I think they're mudding up the low end a touch.

I like the piano riff but I didn't care for the tone of it when it came in, reverb seemed heavy. Vocals are clear and seem to sit in the mix rather well.

I also thought the cymbals were a little buried in the mix... I know that's alot of negative stuff, sorry to be that way but when people want honest opinions I don't think it's fair to say, "awesome job, sounds great"..lol

Anyway, I'm not a professional but I am a music lover and that is 99.9% of your audience.

Catchy tune... seems like alot going on though, especially in the chorus. Drums are a bit busy for my taste and I think they're mudding up the low end a touch.

I like the piano riff but I didn't care for the tone of it when it came in, reverb seemed heavy. Vocals are clear and seem to sit in the mix rather well.

I also thought the cymbals were a little buried in the mix... I know that's alot of negative stuff, sorry to be that way but when people want honest opinions I don't think it's fair to say, "awesome job, sounds great"..lol

Anyway, I'm not a professional but I am a music lover and that is 99.9% of your audience.