Mix It Like A Record - My review...

Dr. Jeep

My MILAR DVD came in and I spent the weekend watching it - about 2 times -then jumping to sections that interested me the most.

To preface this review, let me say that I have had experience recording and mixing in a major studio on a SSL - not as an engineer but as an artist. I know what a big studio can bring to the table when run by pros and how that experience can humble you. You think you kind of know how to mix then you come to find out you don't know anything. I don't pretend to be an engineer. My skills are namely in song writing and performance, not engineering or mixing, hence the interest in Charles Dye's DVD. I run ProTools LE through a Mbox at home. I have been an amateur mixer for about 5 years. Needless to say, I was tired of going nowhere with my sound, finding that I could do nothing to increase the quality of my recordings, and it never sounded close to a record at all. I am not naive to think a DVD is the answer - just always wanting to know more about things that I am passionate about. Enough of that bullshit - onto the review.

First off - the DVD is worth the money. Not because it gives you some magic formula to mix by. It just helps you understand the mix in a DAW environment. From saturation/distortion to automation based on dynamics and emotion of a mix - Dye really demistifies the mixing process.

Now, Dye's method does rely heavily on plugins - but learning what those plugins do - how to set them up - that is invaluable. I new the basics, but Dye really shows you how to maximize them and get the best results. I don't have but third of the ones he uses - but you get the idea and its not about a particular plugin but using something similar to arrive at those results.