Midi problem

Brian Grey

Hey anyone out there who knows midi...

I'm JUST learning right now how to record/play midi on my computer. I'm using a Layla 20, and a Roland JV-90 keyboard as my hardware. For my software I'm using SONAR XL.

My problem is that every time I play a note on my keyboard there is a second delay before I hear the sound on my computer. I'm thinking the delay comes from having to listen to the sound through an extra audio track with a DXI.

Does anyone know why this is happening and what I can do about it? I'm new at the midi stuff... I just figure out how to simply listen to MIDI through the Layla last week, after not knowing for about 4 years... :P

Later,
-Brian

You got it, that's exactly right. DXi softsynths are not responsive enough to be played in real-time unless you have WDM drivers for your sound card and they give you low enough latency. What kind of soundcard are you using, and what operating system are you using?

I'm using the Layla, which has its own sound card it plugs in to.

My operating system is Windows 98 SE.

What do you suggest I do to get this delay gone?

Apparently WDM drivers are very difficult to get running under Windows 98SE, even though it's supposed to support them. Most card manufacturers don't even suggest that it's possible, preferring to keep their customers out of the mire by acting as if their drivers are for XP and 2000 only...(I have not yet been brave enough to try it).

I don't know what driver development is like for the older Layla, if they even offer WDM drivers for them... check Echo's website. And prepare to upgrade to XP or 2000 if they do have working WDM drivers.

That's all you can do if you stick with SONAR.

If you had Cubase or Logic, you could use ASIO drivers with Windows 98 and get low latency with VST softsynths, but not DXi. But I'm not sure if ASIO drivers are available for the Echo cards.