MIDI Playback stops. Please help.

earthcub

This space is inhabited
I've recorded MIDI drum sequences into Sonar. Six tracks, each with different instruments. The problem seems to be that if I create duplicates of the tracks and rearrange the MIDI sequences to create more complex drum patterns and try to play them back, the playback stops right at the beginning of a measure, even if I have one continuous clip.

I'm new to MIDI so I don't know, is there some limit as too how many tracks the average system and synth can play back. I know that my synth has 128 voice polyphony, but I'm using maybe 6-8 patches total for the drums. My hardware is pIII, 356Mb RAM. The audio card is Delta44 and the MIDI card is SBLive. Both have the latest drivers and I have tried replacing them. Sonar has the latest 1.3.1 patch. I've also tried setting the synth to slave, and not. Doesn't make a difference. I'm alos not sure if there's a way to test whether its the synth or the program.

Any ideas are greatly appreciated!

I'm in San Jose myself.

First, the SBLive has a single midi in and out, right?
If so, you have one output port and one input port.
Each port has 16 channels. So even if your synth has
128 voice poly (so does mine XV-5080) you will only
access it with 16 channels on midi.

Since you only have one port, if you make a copy of a midi
track and try to play both the original and the copy at the
same time the notes from each track might attempt to play
at the same time, which is not possible through one midi port.
I'm not sure if something in cakewalk will automatically skew
one of the notes off my a couple of milliseconds. You could
check by Viewing the Events List for each track and see if the
notes are trying to play at the same time. I doubt that is your
problem, but it's something to look at.

Furthermore, are you assigning the tracks to different midi
channels? With one input/output midi port there is a limit to