midi orchestra sounds... questions need answering..best one for under 800?

freakkguitarist

hey guys, im interested in getting some real good string sounds for my studio, i want strings, cellos id like horns, and other various orchestra sounds. i want to be able to do string sounds like dimmu borgir, and other black metal bands, as well as mostly random string parts in pop songs, not full only orchestra peices. what can you guys reccomend? i run logic pro on a dual 2.0 g5 with 2.5 gigs of ram. all i have are the samplers that come with logic. would i need to get a better sampler too?

also random question about writing the parts in midi, how would i tell a sequencer, such as the EXS24 or whatever one i buy to "play notes differently" like legato, or picking notes, or long bows, or short notes. do i have to write that all in the notation editor? or can i do it from piano roll? im not too experienced in all this midi stuff sorry for the dumb questions

ian

freakkguitarist said:
also random question about writing the parts in midi, how would i tell a sequencer, such as the EXS24 or whatever one i buy to "play notes differently" like legato, or picking notes, or long bows, or short notes. do i have to write that all in the notation editor? or can i do it from piano roll? im not too experienced in all this midi stuff sorry for the dumb questions

ian

This part of your question will depend on the quality of your program, i.e if it caters for things like legato crescendo etc. Certain things you may be able to control from the midi controller, like picking notes or sustained notes.

Certain programs, like Synful for example, will use a 1 second delay in playback to 'look into the future' and anticipate what's coming next to add realistic swells or crescendos etc. Synful itself has several drawbacks in that it doesn't feature variations on a samples dynamics (I didn't liek the abss sample for this reaosn, though you CAN download a sample).