MIDI Keyboard

guitarpat

I was wondering what a good keyboard interface would be for a beginner. Keep in mind I am NOT a keyboard player. I am a guitarist and just need it to add "synth" instruments to the mix. There is a huge range in price. I don't really know much about this subject.
Thanks Pat

I was wondering what a good keyboard interface would be for a beginner. Keep in mind I am NOT a keyboard player. I am a guitarist and just need it to add "synth" instruments to the mix. There is a huge range in price. I don't really know much about this subject.
Thanks Pat

My son is a far better guitarist than keyboard player but he did get to grade 8 joe.
He has used an Evolution EKeys49 for some years and it has served him well.

You only need a "controller" with full sized and reasonably good feeling keys, all the noises are generated in the PC.

The Evo' I think is no more but M-Audio do something that looks very much like it! M's drivers seem to work for our Evo anyway! Whatever you get MAKE SURE it has a MIDI out port (5 pin DIN) on it. I will tell you why if you want to know.

For a very nice piano sound, download the demo of Modartt's Pianoteq. it is also a MIDI recorder in its own right.

Dave.

The M-Audio is actually a really good choice. Especially at that price! It's obviously not a Nord, but it's obviously not $4k-6k as well.

Didn't get it. It was sold before I made up my mind.
images
Oooooh!
Found another one for 10 dollars more though

images
Ya
aaaaayyyyy!

esp the 25 key version
Because I'm such a clunk handed keyboardist that can't play keyboards, I couldn't even think of any keyboard with less than 49 keys. I've long wondered how players can get by with 25. They obviously know something my brain won't even consider !

I've got an Alesis 25 key board. You can't play that thing like a regular piano or anything. I use it if I want to track some simple pads or strings or something simple. Simple like, cause it's simple.