Mics and stuff

Jenny.

Hi all,
I wasn't sure quite where to post this as I'm asking for advise on a few bits and bobs. I'm not an engineer by any stretch of the imagination so please excuse my ignorance. For the last couple of years I've been recording some of my own stuff at home in my one room 'studio' as a hobby. I've just built on another room so there is some seperation between my computer/equipment and live mics. It's not ideal but fine for my rustic recordings.

I need to buy some kit to make a new recording with a band. I want mid to low budget where possible but I tend to get advised to buy all the expensive stuff when I go to music stores and I am then at a total loss as to what to buy, it would be great if you could help?

I currently record my vox on a NTK or a SM58. I have a focusrite pre-amp which i sometimes use, a motu ultralite and logic pro, Event monitors, soundcraft mixing desk which again I rarely use.

I think I basically need;
a microphone to record the piano (I've got an upright Yamaha U3 with silent system installed but I don't want to record it via midi).
a mic and amp to record bass/possibly a DI box if that's more viable?
drum mics....
a mic and amp to record guitar, is this all you need?
I guess looms to run through the rooms....

I am not looking for perfect quality because obviously I'm not going to get it but I am hoping to concentrate on the musical material, experiment with budget/mid-range equipment and just make the best recording i can feasibly make. Your advise would be greatly appreciated. Thanks Jen. ;0)

Hi all,