Microphone and Preamp upgrade

dekodesigner

Right, straight to the point.

I'm looking to upgrade my mic and preamp from a behringer ultragain and a rode nt1.

What would you suggest?

I am a hip hop artist who simply needs a cleaner vocal as I use Audition and Acid pro for my effects.

I've looked at a True Stystems P-Solo but that seems like a more instrument based pre right?

Also, heard good things about the Grace 101 and the Focusrite VoiceMaster pro with A/D card.

Along the lines of a mic, i am really not sure what one I want to go for, i just want a good sounding vocal for my tracks, if you want to hear some of the work you can go to my newly set up myspace page at

www.myspace.com/wakefieldsfinest1

AKG C414B-XLS is probably the only mic i have had a little look at.

Budget is £1,300 for the pre+mic so any advice would be highly appreciated as I have just seen pages upon pages of equipment and I don't know which pre-amp works better with vocals and types of mic.

Thanks, James. (UK)

Interface

my mistake, forgot to let you know that my interface was a tascam us-122 (usb 1.0 but can run on usb 2.0 speed)

I'm happy using the Tascam but I'm also happy with selling it to upgrade for firewire or even a better USB 2.0, or quite simply a tascam US-122a (usb2.0)

I have no problem with limitations with the equipment as I'm not going to be adding any second mic etc, i will simply use the same channel and switch mic. So I guess the US-122 is not the issue here?

I have a quad core pc and a good enough spec for good recordings, but the sound im making with what i have right now is not satisfying me any longer (3 months from purchase) So I really want to upgrade fast.

When monitoring i use a pair of hd565's and have my eyes on some KRK rp-6's as i like to work outloud at times, so I wouldn't mind any input on a decent pairs of monitors for the kind of music i'm recording (if the kind of music makes a difference to what monitors people go for).