Micing Guitar cabs?

JosephCampbell

I am going to be recording a Laney Fusion combo amp with a tube pre-amp, direct out and red rocket 50 celestion speaker in it. I want to know how to get the best sound. Do I use the direct out? Do I use My MXL 990 or my SM57? If so in what knid of room? From what didtance? I use three settings Clean, slightly dirty and heavy. For recording I own a Alesis Studio 24 and a Alesis ADAT XT. Thanks for the help!
Joseph Campbell, a young recorder

The generic mic for guitar cabs is the 57. I'd use it in combination with the 990 a few feet back. Just watch out for phase issues and you should have good guitar track. You're going to have to experiment with actual mic placement, but that's the fun! I am no expert on this, but it is something I've done, and it is a much talked about subject. Some reading material for you, if you can get past the sarcasm and profanity:
http://badmuckingfastard.com/sound/slipperman.html

You have the mics I have. I use them in the same combination as said above. One 57 on one of the cones, pointed downward diagonally. Then I put the MXL 990 back about 2 feet pointed directly at the cab, and a little off center. I got a great sound out of the guitars. Here listen to this, I used the same combination on it.

Thanks for the replys guys, any advice on what to use for reverb? A really big room? My Alesis 16 bit 88 effects thingie? A bathroom? Nothing?

JosephCampbell said:
Thanks for the replys guys, any advice on what to use for reverb? A really big room? My Alesis 16 bit 88 effects thingie? A bathroom? Nothing?
It really depends on the song, man. If it's a fairly heavy song, you may not want any reverb on the guitars. If it's a clean, pretty song, you may want tons of reverb (or chorus or tremolo or something else).

Also, a couple more tips: