Mic recommendation for Scarlett 2i2 USB Recording Interface

harman90

Hi all !
I am a newbie in this field. I am buying first ever gear for recording ! :thumbs up:

I have though of buying Scarlett 2i2 USB Recording Interface which I think fits best in my budget and goes well with WIndow .
Now I am looking for best mic within 100$ to go with my interface. My purpose to record voiceover for Indian languages.

Also please mention other stuff I would be needing other than popup filter and 1 xlr cable.
If you think I there is better interface within this range , please let me know that as well. As a newbie! all expert advises are welcome.

Thanks

What you ask sounds like a simple question. Problem is, it is one of the most complex, individual ear/preference questions out there. Let me ask a few questions back to you:
Do you mean new or used mic? Is this for professional use, or for your own amusement and amazement? What are you recording TO? (i.e. CD/DVD/MP3)

If you are looking for the $100 mic, you are probably looking at MXL, and there are a few to consider. Remember that you'll need to budget for a good screen (usually around $15-25) to keep your gleeks out of the mic (large diaphragm condensers and ribbons are VERY susceptible to moisture problems). You can also find great used mics (saw a Blue at GuitarCenter for $89 the other day, sorry, it's mine). :D

But many people will agree/disagree with whatever mic you end up with. Best option is to go to your local music store and try a few in a sound room with headphones (Some stores won't let you do that, especially if you're at that price point) and get one that YOU like.