Mic and more stuff for recording flute and piano

RobinHood_3

Hey there!
I'm just beginning with recording my flute plays and later my piano.
I have made a youtube channel where I'm gonna put on my Covers that i make.
I recorded the sound with my headset microphone(Tritton ax 720) and recorded the videowih my webcam, because my dad took the camera._.

The question is:
Do you have suggestions on what of type of mic I should use?
Also I'm looking for more stuff like holder, camera and camera holder and software to use.

Or any more thing I need?

Thanks in advance!!

You need an audio interface. That way you can connect a microphone to your computer. For flute, I reckon a condenser microphone would capture the essence of your flute in the most accurate way. It is going to cost some money though.

You need an audio interface. That way you can connect a microphone to your computer. For flute, I reckon a condenser microphone would capture the essence of your flute in the most accurate way. It is going to cost some money though.

Can jou explain what a audio interface is? or link me to a tutorial?

In simplest terms, an audio interface connects your microphones and other sound sources to your computer - it bridges the gap from analog to digital. Audio interfaces are commonly equipped with mic preamps, line inputs, and a variety of other input options.

Hi Robin,
For flute where people tend to move about a stereo recording is a good idea (Google "CO-I stereo recording) and the Oz company Rode have just released a pair of mics, the M5*s at £169 which is stonking value for two mics anyway but Rode has a very good industry rep'

You CAN get cheaper, Behringer do a a pair of mics for a third of that and by some accounts they are quite good but go for the Ozzies if you can, they have a 10yr warranty to boot!