Metallica's Justice lead sound

Rhythmschism

Does anyone know what I'm talking about, on "Metallica's And Justice for All..." album? That lead sound that is created for parts such as the intro to "Blackened", and the lead riff 9:00 into "And Justice for All...". I'm no guitar expert, but it appears to be multiple guitar tracks playing at different intervals. But I've never been able to recreate this kind of sound live or recorded, and I haven't really heard anyone else do it the way Metallica does. If I remember right Metallica used a lot of Mesa Boogie equipment on this album? I guess that could contribute a lot to it, but does anyone else more learned than I have any insight on the subject?

Boogie Amps galore. Plus layers and layers of guitars. That's all James Hetfield - on that record Kirk only played solos. Hetfield was notorious for massive layering of guitars. Like 6 or 10 layers of 1 guitar riff. Then there's all sorts of harmony parts and counter melodies/counter rhythms thrown in there.

The intro to "Blackened" is backwards guitar. They actually reversed the tape. Nowadays you just select the audio you want reversed and hit "reverse" or the like in your Digital audio program.

In terms of tone - Hetfield (for that record anyway) scooped out the mids almost entirely. Lots of bass and treble, no mids.

Tube Screamer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!