maudio kt133...need help please

cbsteeler

Hi Folks,

This my first post so I hope I'm doing this right.

I just bought an AMD 1800 with an older chip set called VIA KT133. I also bought a used Maudio Audiophile 2496 card.

I'm confident that both units work except...

I'm very new to hard disc recording but need to get started on my next (low budget) project. My research tells me that the 2496 is the biggest bang for the buck for recording keeper tracks. Also the AMD is fine depending on who you talk to. BUT I've learned after I bring home the AMD that it has the problematic KT133 chipset which I at this point is overwhelming for me technically.

I can't get any info from the Maudio web sit in Canada or the US re/drivers that may fix any KT133 problems except on the German web site that's difficult for me to read even in google translate mode.

I've been told to go for the Audigy 2 but my gut says no especially from what I've read on this site! But this is getting very frustrating.

Any help that anyone could offer to educate me or even point me in the right direction would be a greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

cbsteeler

The 2496 was installed. Kind of a long story but I guess what I'm asking at the moment is, should I not use the card with the KT133 chip set? Is it far too frustaring? Is there anybody who's had success? Sorry to be vague but I'm pretty green at this.

I don't know anything about the chipset or the card. My question is, does it work? If not, what is the problem you're having?

You're not going to hurt anything by trying it. And by installation, I don't mean just physically - have you installed the software (drivers?) I assume though the card was used that it came with instructions and necessary drivers. If not, you can probably download them from maudio.

Please be specific as to what your problem is.