Mastering

mikemoritz

Well, I got my band's CD mastered the other day, and it was a great experience. The engineer however told me that on one track in particular there was quite a bit of comb filtering happening. Now even after I knew about it, I was having trouble picking it out. The closest thing I heard was a slight delay. He picked it out almost immediately. I'm almost positive the cause of the filtering was due to my reverb track being slightly "off", but can someone give me a pointer or two on how to pick out comb filtering and maybe how I can check for/fix it in the future?

Peace out,
Mikey

Did he say on what area?? Phase/comb-filtering are very noticeable on cymbal crashes, as you get this distinct, nasal, flanging sound that occurs....

He may have also flipped the mono switch - if part of the tracks drop out in mono, then there's a good indication of phase or comb-filtering effects happening!

Bruce

For a vocal, you can get a thin, hollow kinda of sound.... this can occur when mic'ing a vocalist and an acoustic guitar at the same time.
(acoustic phase cancellation occurs because of the slight delay due to the distance the mic are apart - a portion of the other mic's signal is captured slightly delayed. When the signals are summed together - as in mono - the difference in phase between the 2 signals creates hills and valleys in the waveform that look very much like a comb - hence the term "comb-filtering")

You will never get comb-filtering if only a single mic is used to capture a source.... unless you get messy/sloppy with effects. It's a good idea to check your tracks in mono compatibility to see if you've got any such problems. They're easy to correct (usually!) at tracking or even mix time -- they are virtually impossible to fix at the mastering stage...

Bruce

Blue Bear Sound said:
You will never get comb-filtering if only a single mic is used to capture a source.... unless you get messy/sloppy with effects.
Bruce

Not all together true B.B.S.