Mastering

gidman

I, being my own worst critic, am not totally pleased with any finished song for one reason or another.

I lack the skills to "master" a finished recording.
The eq is off...too bassy/boomy, too much high end, vocals too soft... too loud...
I can't get all the tunes the same volume with out distorting...
These guys are my friends, and its seems that the more they want me to do any certain mix, the worse it gets. Its my first attempt with an all origional band. I want to do it right.
How do I get "that" sound?
I have 25 years in the music industry but not on the engineering side. I have a good ear. I guess I'm trying to hurry to complete this for them. I have told them that this stuff takes time to get it right and I want it right. On some tracks the guitar sounded so crappy. I played his equpment and found out that he has a pick up that is microphonic. He will overdub the tracks or redo the tunes with new pick ups.

http://www.bmgsound.com/mp3

take your pick...

for hi fi or lo fi streaming:

http://artists.mp3s.com/artists/280/slow_joe_crow.html

Help !!! I need some input please.

Gidman

I would start with trying to fix all the tuning problems. If the frequencies are not layering on top of each other right, there is no way you are going to get the kind of mix you probably want.

Weird clicking sound throughout the mp3. Any idea what that is?

You probably have very severe room tuning problems that are causing you mix with this much muddy low end. Start listening to a bunch of CD's using the same D/A converters you are using to mix so you can get an idea of what stuff "should" sound like in your room and system.

I could think of a bunch of other things, but, I think the above would be a good start.

Ed

Ed,
First of all thanks for your input.
The mixes were done before I had a decent reference monitor. On the mixes I was using two stage monitors.
Not a good idea.I now have a nice set of cerwin vega.