Mastering tips for not pro, but not newb level recording engineer

nascentjunkie

If anyone has the time, this would help me ALOT! I need someone to run through how they master a song. I obviously don't need extreme detail, but how would you say you master a track. I want to know things about levels, obviously, and coloration(bass, mid, treb...) and such like that. Essentially, what happens from the mix to the master, that gives it that master.... Thanks everybody, you all rock!

Pick up a copy of Bob Katz's "Mastering Audio-The art and the science." Then practice endlessly.

Wow, you might as well ask, "How do you make desert for a meal?", "How do you play the 9th inning of a baseball game?", or "How do you bring a woman to orgasm?" The details completly depend on the meal, the game and the woman. ;)

Nevertheless, I'll tray and give a very general outline to the workflow when I do it. Keep in mind I am not a pro mastering engineer with specialized mastering gear. I am a pro mixing engineer who also happens to do basic mastering when there is not budget or end use need for the Big Boys...

First thing is to take a break between the mixdown and the mastering. I try to make this break at least an hour long, but if the deadline, budget and workload/workflow allow for it, I'd often prefer to let the mixdown marinate in the studio overnight before I go back to master it. The idea is to step away from the console, get out of the room and let both the ears and the brain rest (or at least work on other things) for a while. Coming back to master a mixdown "fresh" instead of chrning right through both the mixing and the mastering in one fell swoop is (for me anyway) a real imperative. The mixdown aways sounds entirely different to me after the break and the work always cones at a higher quality for me that way as well.