mastering this mix

cabbage

Hey there,
Im a newbie and have been having heaps of problems with the distortion in my mix. Youve all helped with your advice but i just cant seem to get it right. If any of you could help out it would be heaps appreciated.
here is the link for my song.

cheers,
C

please, anyone.. all i want is to get rid of the boominess and distortion that i hear on smaller speakers, whilst importantly keeping it sounding thick. i dropped all the lows before and it just didnt have any depth.
frustration and inexperience is taking over.
C.

cabbage, don't feed the bear, but do read his article. It's very informative. Sounds like everything is mixed pretty loud. Have you tried to bring everything down abit before mixing? Maybe bring individual tracks down a couple of db before trying to mix, then see what happens. I like the song, it just seems loud. I've read a lot about giving yourself headroom, and this seems to give you more to play with when mixing.

I am no master, so take it as some advice from someone who read something somewhere that may or may not work. My stuff sounds better if I record and mix at slightly lower volumes, then bring it up later, as most of the time it end up pretty loud anyway.

Just my $1.50 worth.
Ed

Also, without knowing your setup... bear in mind that not all DAWs do summng in floating point. That can really bite you in the backside if you start out with levels that are way too hot on individual tracks.

I'm not quite sure what you're hearing, though. I'm having a hard time hearing much of anything on that MP3. Too much swirling....

I'm not quite sure what you're hearing, though. I'm having a hard time hearing much of anything on that MP3. Too much swirling....[/QUOTE]

swirling? not sure what you mean, but how do i fix it?
Also- dogman
do mean highlighting it all and bringing it down a few db. Is that different to just bringing the master down? why?
cheers,
C.