Marshall Valvestate 8080

Dj17

If you know this amp, what do you think about it? It's discontinued, so besides learning it was one of Marshall's best-sellers, it's kind of difficult to find a review.

I have NO experience with amps. All I ever owned is a Soundtech QM4 Audiochoice in which I could plug mics, guitars, basses. It's not specifically a guitar amp and it doesn't sound that good at all, especially not when recorded. I have a handful of Boss pedals which end up making the sound slightly *bearable*, but you know how it is. Not really good.

Would I at least have better chances to get a decent sound with the Marshall Valvestate 8080? There's a used one on sale. I didn't even ask for the price because I just looked at it for 2 seconds and wasn't even there to buy an amp, but being home now, I realize it might be a good idea to upgrade my "amp". I'm just curious about this one I guess, and I just don't trust anyone trying to sell me something.

How much should it cost, anyway? Preferably in Canadian money ;). Even better, what would be the lowest-yet-still-decent price I could try to get it for?

I probably didn't give enough info for you to give me the best answers, but ask away if you need to know anything. I feel kind of stupid saying this, but I love playing Radiohead and I think Tool's guitar sound kicks ass. Anything closer to it than it was before will make me happy. I probably won't even notice that it's not even close. Really.

Thanks for taking that post seriously.

Last edited:
I've been using one of these for years and I love it. I love the sound I get out of it.

You will totally be able to get a decent sound out of it. It seems pretty versatile. The scoop control is great. Unlike the new AVT valvestates, which just have a scoop switch, it has a scoop control which gives a lot more variety.

I've used it for everything from playing radiohead type stuff to nirvana to metallica to death metal.