MANY THANKS for previous advice • HOW ABOUT the original musical idea for this track?

dreamer7

:):):) Many thanks to all who posted before, for the previous good advice on this track BUT……

……I'd also really like to know how this sounds to people as an original idea. How's it coming across as a piece of music in itself (if you ignore the distortion problem mentioned in the previous thread).

:confused: Also, as we all have to describe our music to other people in some way, what main genre does it sound like it fits into best – being so close to it myself, I'm a little unsure where this fits as far as others ears are concerned.

Here's the direct link again:
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/page_songInfo.cfm?bandID=662928&songID=6190630

Anyone here have any thoughts on this at all?
Thanks in advance.
dreamer7 :D

Dreamer,

I really like this kind of stuff. I guess I would call it New Age? but I'm no expert. It's kind of trippy and in 6/8 which I'm always a sucker for.

I'd probably classify it as Neo-Psychedelia, with strong Ambient overtones...but I frequently call my children by the wrong names, so I wouldn't put too much stock in my naming abilities.

It's a nice piece...not my bag, but I didn't turn it off, and I thought it was well recorded except the piano sound was weird to me...kinda' grainy; I assume that was intentional? Hell, I'm not even sure it was a piano synth.

Ignore me.

Dreamer,

I really like this kind of stuff. I guess I would call it New Age? but I'm no expert. It's kind of trippy and in 6/8 which I'm always a sucker for.
:) Hi bigtom. Glad you like it, but I must admit that I've never thought of it as New Age, so it's interesting that you see it sort of that way. Now, "trippy", that's a good word!

I'd probably classify it as Neo-Psychedelia, with strong Ambient overtones...but I frequently call my children by the wrong names, so I wouldn't put too much stock in my naming abilities.