man almighty

juust broke my first stick in years..............................

must have been a shoddy vic firth:rolleyes:
Why would you blame the stick maker? Maybe it was just you. Had you been playing ProMark or Calato...you'd be saying the same thing.

juust broke my first stick in years..............................

must have been a shoddy vic firth:rolleyes:

Hmmm, yeah... must've been a defect in the wood.:D

It happens:D.

It's interesting how much money you save in sticks, heads and cymbals, not to mention pain pills and doctors fees, when you learn how to strike the drums properly.

I remember when I started playing, I was going through sticks like a beaver. My heads were FULL of dents, digs and craters.Then I read an article in Modern Drummer with Ed Shaunessy (long time ago:p) where he said:

If you are going through sticks and heads like they are going out of style, you are obviously playing wrong.

It took me a few months to adjust my playing (self taught), but once I got it I rarely broke anything and my heads lasted sometimes for years.

I even had a pair of Pro Mark 747s last me about five years! Good thing too, cuz I was so broke then I couldn't afford a new pair.

Then one of your many musician friends decides to get behind the kit and that's when it happens. Blame them for the broken sticks.

the way i look at it, the stick breaking is simply "taking one for the team" with respect to your wrists. wouldn't you rather have the stick break than have all that vibration go to your hands, wrists and arms?

i don't break a LOT of sticks (at least, not anymore).......but it seems that given the right rimshot at the right angle and they pop like popcorn.

cheers,
wade

Why would you blame the stick maker? Maybe it was just you. Had you been playing ProMark or Calato...you'd be saying the same thing.

Yeah Slidey, it’s probably you not the stick. I mean since this is the first stick you've broke in years, then it must be your technique.