Making Basement Studio Quieter

Spillenger

I have a finished basement in my house at the end of a quiet dead-end street. The larger section of the basement measures roughly 20’ x 22’ – basically a square – and there is another smaller space that comes off the larger one forming a kind of “L” with it. It's about 10' x 15'.

In the larger section, I have my computer and desk, which I use for work. All my music supplies, instruments and equipment are also near the desk. I have been recording music at this desk for a few years now, but I am dissatisfied with the noisiness of the space, and I want to set up a “studio” in the smaller section of the basement – not a closed-in room, but just a space away from the CPU and other noise-making devices.

I record on a Mac Pro; my sound card is a Presonus Firebox; I run my mic first through a Presonus TubePre; I use an M-Audio Axiom Pro controller. My cables (all balanced) are not especially high-end. I typically play acoustic and electric guitars; mandolin; banjo; bass; keyboards; percussion; I also sing.

A few other details: the basement ceilings are 7 feet high; the floor is carpeted with a rough wall-to-wall carpeting; the walls are mostly wood and dry wall, with a couple of bookcases. The HVAC system, unfortunately, is in the basement (in a utility room off the finished basement area), and there are heat and air ducts in the ceiling above both sections and one vent above each section. I have not acoustically treated the basement in any way, except for a few Aurelex pads underneath my studio monitors.

Obviously, there are two kinds of noise I’m experiencing – (1) electrical noise/hiss/hum having to do with my computer, devices, cables and electricity setup; and (2) ambient noise that I believe comes mainly from my CPU and hard drives; the HVAC system and water heater; and the hard surfaces of the walls and ceiling. Occasionally, I get noise from outside, but it is very rare and in any case it’s not my main problem.