making a carved top acoustic jazz gtr. Which wood(s) to use???

pisces7378

Hey gang,

I am a complete beginner at making guitars. In fact, I have never done it before. I have several books on the subject, and have a 6 tape VHS cassette on building an acoustic guitar. I have most recently read Benedetto's book on the carve-top acoustic guitar. That is what I want to build.

I have been to Stewert-Mc, and the lmii.com websites, and basically for a here is what I'd be looking at.

German Spruce Top $203.75
Big Leaf Maple (Medium Flame) Backs and Sides $206.45
NW Curly Maple Neck Blank 2nd Grade $87.55
B16B Chevron Purfling Backstrip $5.35
Ebony Fingerboard $18.85
Fretts $6.00
Bone Nutt $4.00
Kerfing x 4 $4.80 x 4 = $19.20
Mahogany End Block $4.80
3x Bracing Wood Sitka Spruce $5.75 x 3 = $17.25
Tail Piece Ebony $19.05
Ebony Head plate $9.95

Total $590.70 + shipping

This would give me descent enough wood to start off with. But... I don't have a drill press, no wood shaping planes or files. No bending iron(s). No tools of any kind save a few screw drivers and rulers. And even for the wood I am sure that $600 is a rough estimate, and it will be much more.

Anyway, I have some friends that know some pretty hard core builders. They would have a lot of the tools that I could probably borrow. My only concern right now would be the wood. I want to build a guitar as a practice run so to speak. I want to go to Home Depot (or wherever) and buy some cheap wood that is probably not ideal for a guitar, just so I can practice a few guitars before I buy $600 in wood.

In Benedetto's book he shows a guitar he made out of crap construction grade wood. He said that great wood is a great thing. But you can still build an exception guitar out of the worst wood. Basically he wanted to stress that it is the builder's tallent and skill that count more so than $3,000 rare woods.