Mac or PC? Not a vote

I'm not interested in arguments here as I have been using both Mac & PC for about 10 years.

I'm thinking about going to a Mac for my studio.

I want to go Pro Tools and I'm looking for the cost of anyone who has done the same.

I want a G5, audio interface for recording up to 16 tracks, mixer...

Anyone else doing something similar?

Prefer a PC for this type of working environment.

Thanks Folks!

You looking to go full blown HD rig or an LE setup? Either can do 16 channels one will last you life the other well... (not a knock against it really I've got an 002)

An HD rig will cost you about eight thousand for the HD core card, and about 5 thousand for a 192 with an A/D expansion card for a total of 16 ins and 8 outs. Then If you want a controll surface...

An LE setup will be about $2000 for the Digi002 then another $2500 for a nice 8ins/8outs adat lightpipe converter. that would give the Digi002 16 ins 16 outs with 4 of the ins being digi pres. The final track cound could be extened on the 002 to 18ins/18outs by adding in a spdif converter.

Then you still need a computer and if you are going with an apple G5 this will set you back at least three grand.

Hope that helps.

>>AG

There are a few different Pro Tools setups you can go with-