Mac or PC and other tough decisions

130R

I am a newbie (to home recording) and have been evaluating different options over the past several weeks. Here are two typical options from a few dealers I like:

OPTION 1
Powerbook G4 1Ghz (or) G5 1.8
Motu 828 Mk2 Sound card
Mackie 1202 VL2 Pro
Tannoy Reveal monitors
Logic 6 Platinum software
etc..

OPTION 2
Music XPC Computer (please see: www.musicxpc.com
Midiman Omni I/O Bundle D66 (or thoughts of Yamaha 01X !)
Yamaha MSP5 monitors
Steinberg Cubase SX
(etc..cables, mics, headphones)

Right now I am leaning towards the PC option, but I have a demo for the Logic 6 tomorrow....

Any input/discussion is greatly appreciated!

David

130R said:

OPTION 2
Music XPC Computer (please see: www.musicxpc.com
Midiman Omni I/O Bundle D66 (or thoughts of Yamaha 01X !)
Yamaha MSP5 monitors
Steinberg Cubase SX
(etc..cables, mics, headphones)

Right now I am leaning towards the PC option, but I have a demo for the Logic 6 tomorrow....

Any input/discussion is greatly appreciated!

David

The XPC is overpriced. Just buy a Shuttle kit and the parts in it, and save $500.

Even if you take it to a tech, I'm sure it still wouldn't cost you as much as those clowns are charging.

Actually, I think DAWBOX.com is doing the Shuttle kit now, and I know they're cheaper (and better) than MusicXPC.com.

http://www.dawbox.com

This from MusicXPC's website:

Q. Can't I buy a Shuttle chassis and put this together cheaper?

A. Some people may be able to do this, if they factor in their time at $0.00 per hour. The MusicXPC is not a bolted together set of components. We built this machine from the BIOS right up to the faceplate. The perception that anyone can bolt a product like this together is erroneous. It may look like a MusicXPC but 99 times out of 100 it will never work like one. It's a question of how much time you want to spend thinking about the computer as opposed to thinking about music.