M-Powered or LE?

Agent47

Dismember
My first post in the PT forum...

Despite using DAWs in studios for over 10 years, I'm a PT noob, only just starting to use it at the studio I work in. Anyway, I'm thinking of getting PT for my home studio, so I can take on extra audio-post work and be compatible with other facilities.

I have an M-audio 192 card, so could easily get M-powered (I've been playing with the demo recently). Would there be any point getting LE and a Digi 003 box or M-box instead? Would an LE system be more stable, or can I realistically save some cash and use my existing card?

Which is better, M-powered systems or LEs? :)

Thanks (go ahead and laugh at the PT noob, go on!).

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?langid=100&navid=28&itemid=4779&action=news_details

That's a link to a really good comparison.. I would say I/O would be a deciding factor.. They are otherwise pretty much identical.. M powered is compatible with more interfaces.. but LE is compatible with better interfaces IMO.. M powered lacks some of the plugs, but most use third party more anyway, and maybe you do too already. Anyway, hope that helps.. I personally prefer LE.. I want to go with a rosetta soon, which isn't M powered compatible where LE is.. and then I can eventually go HD.. maybe. Good luck!

Thanks! I see LE and M-powered are similar, just seeing if I can get people's personal experiences. I had a feeling that LE was slightly better - hardwarewise - than M-powered.

As long as it runs stable then I may stick with my M-audio card for the time being and save myself a few hundred £...

Ultimately I want to run Source Connect and maybe eventually Digitranslator, depending on what work comes in (...if any).

I personally prefer LE.. I want to go with a rosetta soon, which isn't M powered compatible where LE is.. and then I can eventually go HD..