low end on guitar

willovercome

i think most of my guitar tracks sound ok, but they all seem to be lacking a little bass. the mids and highs sound good and not overpowering, but there is almost no low end.

i usually use any combination of NTK, sm 57, or NT5s. i use small body taylors, and a martin d-18 mostly. any tips?

i'm no expert on taylors but it probably comes down to mic positioning.
maybe a question of using different strings ?
could be a number of factors.
one thing to note - the bigger the guitar cavity the more it will
resonate from an audio perspective, and i guess "throw" the sound out.
i mention this because your using you said small bodies.
also playing stle might be a factor. ie: a light picker versus a heavy picker.
how about trying a pickup under the strings and recording that ?
to get nore bass ?
just some ideas.

From my own experience, low end can be very hard to judge if you don't have good monitors and an acoustically treated room.

So be careful, the low end may be there after all, you just can't hear it from the mixing position.

The way I would deal with this situation (assuming poor monitors and a bad room) is to burn the mix and play it on 4 or 5 different audio systems (small stereo, car stereo, home theatre stereo etc.).

Take note of the bass levels, if you stilil feel they are lacking, use some EQ to raise the lower frequencies.

100-200Hz is the general area that will add some fullness to the guitars.

My only advice is to use proximity carefully to your advantage. As already mentioned it can be hard to judge. Get the mic a tiny bit closer if you want some more lows.

But really the bigger issue is how it sounds in the mix. Is there going to be a bass or any other instruments or will the guitar sound be carrying the mix?

Some verb can fill out a single guitar nicely. Ok, I am sure this is all completely obvious but that's my .02$