Low cost pc choices.which should I get??/

scott2go

Hello All,
As a newbie I have studied the forums and decided I am incapable of building my own cheap daw.But considered upgrading either one of these,A friend has offered my choice of these 2 systems to build from.I have not chosen a sound card or software,and have little experience w/ tracking,Ive played w/ some share ware,and free ware but haven't stepped up to the plate yet.So should I buy either one of these bluelight specials? or ask someone else to build one for me??

Intel P4 2.4GHz
20.00 Case with power supply
170.00 Mothrboard with 2.4GHz CPU (Intel) - includes sound,10/100 NIC,USB
.00 CPU Fan/heathsink
40.00 256MB DDR PC2700
40.00 40GB Hard Drive
10.00 1.44 Floppy Drive
40.00 AGP Video card - 32/64MB
40.00 CDRW
15.00 56K Modem
10.00 PS2 Keyboard & Mouse
15.00 17" Monitor
XP pro

-----------
$400.00

AMD 2400+ Athlon
20.00 Case with power supply
90.00 Motherboard with CPU - includes sound,10/100 NIC, USB
10.00 CPU fan/heatsink
40.00 256MB DDR PC2700
40.00 40GB Hard Drive
10.00 1.44 Floppy Drive
40.00 AGP Video card - 32MB
40.00 CDRW
10.00 PS2 Keyboard & Mouse
15.00 56K Modem
15.00 17" Monitor
XP Pro
_______
$330.00

I dont have the specifics but can ask him if I need them,any thought's?I can't replace his parts for mine and get a credit as he has already purchased them,but he would be willing to work w/ me as far as installing parts I buy.Any suggestions would be great,I will be recording 2-8 tracks at once, Thanks Scott

256Mb of RAM and 40Gd HD's are hardly adequate for DAW work. XP alone needs over 200Mb of RAM at any given time. Minimums for RAM and HD nowaday's are 512Mb and 80Gb.

You don't need XP Pro either unless you have a multiprocessor system or need the more advanced networking features like Remote Desktop Managment. Save $100 and go with XP Home.

I would invest in a dualhead video card and 2 monitors as well. It will make your life much easier.