Looking to Ditch my DAW - Need Advice

Lanny Cox

Alright folks, here's the deal. I'm an aspiring musician/engineer/producer/yadda yadda yadda. Currently I'm recording all my stuff on a Zoom MRS-1044 10 track DAW, and then using an optical cable to mix it down to my PC where I edit it with Goldwave. This is, in my opinion, very inefficient. I've found that over time I'm using the DAW less and less. For instance.. the built in effects became pretty much useless as soon as I bought some decent mics and other gear, the onboard pres pale in comparision to my DMP3, I don't really need it to plug into because I have a decent mixer, and so forth. In addition, the thing is friggin' clunky as hell to operate, requires space in my room, and selling it would give me cash for some funky new gear.

Now.. here's the thing...

WHERE DO I EVEN START? AHHHHH.

Right now I've got a copy of Cubasis VST that was included with my SB Audigy Platinum 2 sound card (I know, not real recording gear, I'm ditching it as soon as I sell the DAW). Is this decent recording software, or should I look into something like Pro Tools? In addition.. my sound card will need to be upgraded. What would you guys recommend in the 1 or 2 hundred dollar range? Ideally I'd like to record 4-8 tracks at the same time (I'm picky, sue me). What are the inputs on those fancy recording soundcards like? Are there a bunch of them or something? I can only record 2 tracks at a time on my Audigy. Help, please? Thanks in advance.

Lanny Cox said:
Is this decent recording software, or should I look into something like Pro Tools?
Not protools (ick). My recommendation would be Tracktion2. It comes with LOADS of plugins, both VST fx and VST instruments, is dead easy to use and the results can be just as professional as 'protools'. Download the demo version here and if you like it as much as I do, buy it here.

Here's a link to a soundcard that will let you record 4 tracks at a time.