Looking for some more definitive answers.

MatthewH

Hey, im Matt im new to Home recording as you can see and at the moment im trying to build up a "studio" and have been looking up information on getting the best results while recording for a short while.
I play in a four piece rock band that plays covers but wants to focus more so on originals. i would like to record the band and get near to local studio quality results eventually, i am willing to put the time in as i find recording very fun and satisfying with an end result.
all i have currently is:
couple of SM58s/57s
plenty of drum mics
BOSS compressor micro rack series on input
Windows PC - 2GB memory triple core processor
Reaper DAW software
Creative Audigy 2

So my main problem is i want to record separate tracks simultaneously, Ive looked a lot into audio interfaces but not any of them specifically say they can record more than two tracks simultaneously, i would need at least 4 simultaneous tracks, preferably 6-8 Via USB any suggestions?

Secondly how much should i consider spending on monitors? considering i have a low budget what are the most important things to be spending money on, once again suggestions would be nice.

Thirdly i have three rooms to use, one very small (closet sized empty.) another relatively small but entirely empty and the third larger but has my bed and some draws, are any of those going to be specifically better for mixing or tracking ect?

Finally i have read how important room treatment is, but where should most of the money be spent, tracking room? mixing room? vocals? also are there any DIY alternatives, like carpets to dampen high end frequency(i think)?

Oh and also id say i can spend around £300 at the moment, i could probably push it to £500 and if something is really most definitely worth the wait, ill consider saving, but im hoping from this point i can keep improving my gear and seeing a improvement in my work because of it.