Looking for Recording Setup Recommendation

sendittokeith

Im about to purchase some new gear to record with. I need to record vocal and accoustic so i was gonna try a 3 mic approach.

I am pretty newb but i do have experience with Alesis mixers (not good luck), Sonar 7, etc. but im not opposed to switching to Cubase or ProTools.

What should i get? A 4 channel mixer, i used Alesis firewire w/o much luck.

I was hopping to cap the spending at $500 but could go a bit more if the product is fitting. Ideally i would like something that allows me to send the channels back out (if possible) and hook up my Rokit monitors.

My band has a Presonus StudioLive (very high end) but its not always available to me, so i was hoping to have something that i keep hooked up in my studio that would allow me to route the ouputs to either my Rockits or the StudioLive.

-edit-
I already own Sonar 7 Producer, but again im no opposed to switich im far from an expert using it.

Im sure there will be more questions, etc. so i'll update this post as they come.

Thanks to all for your help. Hopefully i'll gain enuf experience to give back at some point.

Do you have any microphones currently? If so how many more are you wanting..

Or are you just looking for an interface, in which case I'll assume that you want pre-amps included.

Also, what kind of computer are you using?

--Paul

Side Note: I use Sonar 7 Producer Edition and that works for me, there is absolutely no need to switch to cubase or pro-tools if your software fits your workflow.

Do you have any microphones currently? If so how many more are you wanting..

Or are you just looking for an interface, in which case I'll assume that you want pre-amps included.

Also, what kind of computer are you using?

--Paul

Side Note: I use Sonar 7 Producer Edition and that works for me, there is absolutely no need to switch to cubase or pro-tools if your software fits your workflow.