Looking for a Mac setup.

DJBC

I have some experience at recording rap/hip-hop vocals on PC, but I always used a couple different friends equipment. Now I'm looking to set up a little studio for me to record and produce hip hop and also dabble in some electronic music. So far I know that I will for sure be using a Mac. I have a budget of around $5,000 including the computer. Any recommendations on a Mic and preamp/interface to use with the Mac. And also what software would you say is the most user friendly yet professional to use with OS X?

Computer: Mac Pro (any model). You can do it with anything all the way down to the Mini, but the Mac Pro's larger enclosure should significantly reduce the amount of work you have to do to keep fan noise out of your recordings (assuming you're building a single-room setup).

Audio hardware: any FireWire interface by MOTU. I've generally found their FireWire drivers to be some of the most thoroughly debugged drivers out there, with a few rare exceptions.

Software: Logic (Apple) and Digital Performer (MOTU) are both good choices, IMHO. MOTU audio interfaces come with DP's little brother, AudioDesk, and you can upgrade from there. That said, I'm guessing you'll be doing a lot of MIDI stuff, and for that, Logic is probably a better choice.

Preamp: no real opinion.

Mics: check out the twenty bazillion "which mic for under $X should I get for hip hop" threads over in the Microphones forum. :)

Also, don't forget a good pair of headphones for tracking and a good set of near field monitors for mixing.

Computer: Mac Pro (any model). You can do it with anything all the way down to the Mini, but the Mac Pro's larger enclosure should significantly reduce the amount of work you have to do to keep fan noise out of your recordings (assuming you're building a single-room setup).