Looking for a good Mic/Pre amp combo for hip Hop vocals.

Divine

The Ultimate
I am in the process off getting my home studio up and running. I will most likely be doing everything digital on my computer using a MOTU 828. I am trying to get some information on a good Microphone to use for recording vocals (HIP HOP). I want to have a full sound that is not brittle and full of high end.
I have some experience running recording equipment but never got much education on microphones so I am kinda lost on what to look for in a mic.
I also would be interested in what people have to say about good pre amps.
Overall I would be willing to spend around 2k but would prefer to spend less if possible (But I will not compromise sound to save money).

Help me out if you can, I would appreciate it alot, thanks!

If you like WU

I saw an mtv special and believe it or not Method Man said they use a SansAmp rack unit as a preamp for drums and vocals to get a dirtier sound. (SansAmp is made for guitars that go direct )Specifically regarding the drums, they use electronics/loops so the SansAmp is actually a neat way to pre process those sound before they get into the board.

Not sure what mikes they use but honestly, MTV diarys (back off critics in the peanut galleryI am over 30 ) always uses some studio footage and keen eyes (or videotape) can reveal lots of gear ....

nP

Thanks for the tip. I heard something about the RZA using guitar effects on lots of stuff before. I will look into it more.

marshall mxl v67g sounds surprisingly good for hip-hop. A friend of mine uses it on rap vocals and it sound classy.

Its less than $200

I havent heard to much about Marshall mics, I will look at it.
I would think people used more exspensive mics to record vocals. I am trying to get a pro sound, but if it can be done at a price like that all the better.
I was thinking I would have to spend at least 1000$ to get a good mic.