Live Performance Mic With Low Proximity Effect

bgavin

Other than going to an omni, are there any cardioid types with lower proximity effect than the typical SM58?

Almost without exception, every live artist seems to "eat" the mic, and this gives the characteristic huge proximity effect. I remember reading some of the E-V mics get around this, but I have no experience.

Anybody?

Have a listen to either the Sennheiser E845 or E865 they have been designed to roll off the Bass which limits the proxy effect, the downside of this is when the mics are used at distances of say more than 100mm they can sound a bit thin.

AKG used to make one called the d-3600. It's long since discontinued, but they pop up on ebay from time to time. It's a dual-diaphragm dynamic and has almost 0 proximity effect. Also, if you could find an old Electrovoice RE-15.

The only thing I can think of that you could get new is the Electrovoice RE-20 which will set you back a bit, but it's an outstanding investment in the long run.

Get an EV RE16 or RE18. (can be also listed as RE-16 or RE-18)

Leave out "Electro-Voice", "Electrovoice" or "EV". That way all three spellings will be found, otherwise some can be missed. Simply use the model names listed above when searching ebay.

If you're a "P-popper" (like me), they'll be safer to use than the RE15.
Plus the foam protects the interior element better with live use over
a long period of time vs. the RE15.

Chris

Thanks Chris,

It is my understanding that E-V offered something or other that cancelled the proximity effect.

My needs are for something that doesn't get fat up close, nor thin out at a distance (read: omni), but still offers some directional control against feedback in a live environment.

chessrock said:
The only thing I can think of that you could get new is the Electrovoice RE-20 which will set you back a bit, but it's an outstanding investment in the long run.

Plus if a fan gets out of line you can beat them to death with an RE20.