Lifting the ground an a Marshall amp

hrn

Just wonder if it's harmfull for a 100W Marshall amp to lift the ground on the voltage plug. I'm in Europe, 220 Volts.

Hans

hrn said:
Just wonder if it's harmfull for a 100W Marshall amp to lift the ground on the voltage plug. I'm in Europe, 220 Volts.

Hans

Hi HRN,
harmful for the amp or for you? (hate it to be you!!)
I'm sure you can 'ground lift' safer externally, rather than on the amp itself?
I'm sure someone will help you out more betterererer.

Let me posite this question? What do you think could become the new path to ground? At 220v. I hope it is not you. Also why are you lifting? Humm? Maybe? I am not an electrician so here is the disclaimer, I am not an electrician or amp tech. However, removing the path to ground is generally not a good idea. I hope someone else will chime in on this as I know some workarounds and ways to solve this type of problem but I am not sticking my neck out to tell you to do it. Better safe than sorry. Not trying to be a jerk by not sharing, I just can't handle the ethical and legal implications.

Thanks guys,
Yes, it's a terrible hum/noise problem. Just trying to find an easy way around it. If I use guitar cables with earth connected at only one side (signal end) would it be so very dangerous then? It's very common with wall plugs here without any earth on them.

Would it be harmful for a Marshall amp do you think? I do it very often with a solid state bass amp getting it dead silent from hum and noise.

Hans

never lift a ground on an amp.... back when i was a tech one particular manufacturer would void warranties for this and my boss wouldn't let it outta the shop without one because of liability issues... and at 220/240 it's even more hazardous than our mere 120...

hrn said:
Thanks guys,