LD condensor --- options-- newbie -- confused -- help!

Picker

Ok… so now I’m confused

I’m just getting into recording and here’s what I’m using so far.

P4 2.6 ghz
Seagate 7200 rpm 120 gig HDD
1 gig ram
Event TR8XL monitors
Cakewalk Sonar 2.2

Mics:
Shure SM58
Shure SM57
Sennheiser e855

The next thing I think I need will be a LD condenser mic for vocals etc. I’ve been reading up on different mics here and elsewhere, and of course have become increasingly confused by the variety and options available. My thinking was that variable polar patters would be nice to have for flexibility without having to buy eight different microphones for different applications. Also, I would like the best quality I can get (I believe in having good equipment), but cannot afford too much -- $500 would be good, certainly not over $1,000).

This all has led me to a few different options.

AT 4050 – has gotten some good reviews and has 3 polar patterns (omni, cardioid, and fig.8). $500 new
AKG414BULS – $849 new more expensive, but can get for $500 or $600 on ebay used.
AKG C414BTLII $999 Transformerless Version of C414BULS --- not sure what this means but its $150 more than the BULS model.
Neumann TLM103 -- $830 getting to high end of price range and cardioid only, but highly thought of.
Or, I could get a good studio projects LD mic for $300 and a pair of Oktavia 012s for about $100 each.

Anyway, what would you suggest as the best path for my home studio. Right now, I’m kinda leaning towards the AT4050 or the used AKG. Any suggestions? Comments? Cautions? Will I regret going with the less expensive solutions? Am I better off getting a good mic that specializes in one polar pattern, or is it good to get the flexibility of the AT4050 or AKG414.

Other recommendations?

thanks