Lapsteel Players!

snipeguy

Andy Goldsworthy Wannabe
I'm a lapsteel player as well as regular ol' sixbanger. I was wondering if there are any other lapsteel players out there? What strings and tunings do you use. What's your setup? I play a '70's Gibson (not sure of the model) and a 60's Mason (made in Waterloo, Ontario by the long defunct Mason Amp & Guitar Co.) Being self taught my tuning is a weird GBEABD (that's low to high)
It works for me. My strings are the old Dean Markley Jazz that come off my Strat. Reuse-Recycle-Reduce!

I play a little. Just some small fills in songs. I used to have an old Black Gibson Lap Steel but stupid me went and sold it.

I have a cheap old POS now but it gets the small jobs done I suppose..

LOL I recycle too. If I break a string (rare) i just use an old GHS or Slinky..

I have a late '40's Supro. I string it with Ernie Ball slinkies (.010 E) but I use a .20W in place of the G, and move the .017 to B and the .013 for the E. The .010 I throw away. I have used E (E-B-E-G#-B-E), Em (same, with G# tuned down to G), E6 (same as E, with the high B tuned up to C) and E7 (either E-D-E-G#-B-E or E-B-E-G#-D-E) over the years. I also play a little pedal steel (E9) and a lot of Dobro (E).

Glad to see someone playing lap steel. I played it a LOT until I got my Dobro in '84 (and suddenly went from being the "last guy picked" to actually being in demand!

Mine's a Rick Electro with a horseshoe pickup. I tune it to open E except the A string (B) is raised to C#.

Now that you mention strings, I really should change them, they're Gibson Mona Steels that have been on there forever. Very heavy, probably .050 for the E string. The B and G strings are changed out to like 11's and 19 (unwound) to B string type bending behind the bar.

What's the diff between a lap steel and a squareneck resonator (Dobro)? The one's electric (Hawaiian) and the other acoustic?

patlang12 said: