Krank Krankenstein Review...

Uladine

This thread isn't meant to urge anyone to buy a Krankenstein or say that it's better than any other amp, but merely an attempt to shed some light on the Krankenstein as I know some of you here are curious about it. The following opinions are all just opinions, so don't hate me for liking this amp. Basically, I purchased a Krankenstein a couple weeks ago and I am thoroughly happy with it.

First of all, a bit of background. I'm no tone expert, I haven't test driven all forms of high gain amps, but I have tried/owned many of the amps that the Krankenstein is usually compared to. I play heavy music (At The Gates, In Flames, Meshuggah, Chimaira, Killswitch Engage, Soilwork, Dark Tranquillity, etc.). I didn't buy this amp because I'm a Dimebag Darrel Fanatic. In fact I was actually not interested in the Krankenstein at first because I didn't want my tone to sound like tone from the Pantera/Damageplan albums. I thought the Krankenstein would be a tube amp that sounded like a solid state for some reason. I just tried it out to try to eliminate it from my options for a new amp.

The main guitar I play through the amp is a Gibson SG standard with EMG 85's. I know some of you may think "why 85's? You're supposed to put an 81 in the bridge position". I used to use the classic 81 & 85 configuration until Joel from Killswitch urged me to try the 85 in the bridge. I switched them around one day and haven't looked back since. 81's have more output, but they sound too thin to me now. 85's have more punch and just sound warmer to me.