Killing pops while recording

Joza

Hi =)

I'm not a singer, just a songwriter / wannabe mixing engineer, but sometimes it would be helpful to record demo vocals for my songs, so I got T.Bone SC400 (I choose it quite randomly) and some cheap preamp from Behringer.

However, my voice is extremely weak, so I need to use high input volume and/or close distance. That of course makes the background noise rather high, but more severe problem seems to be that the consonants and all kinds of clicks and pops become overly emphasized.

I have some knowledge on how to edit those out, but it takes awfull amount of time (for it being just a demo recording) and it still doesn't sound too good. So I was thinking if anyone had some tips for the recording phase?

I've read somewhere that having the mic come downwards and be slightly higher than mouth helps, and I just ordered new better quality pop screen, but is there something else that could be done?

There are a number of techniques to reduce popping.

1 You can learn to sing words with plosives ('p' & 'b', for example) less explosively.

2 You can sing less directly into the mike, e.g. sing to one side, or over the top.

3 You can invest in a pop shield.

A Popperstopper is what you need.

Rycote have just launched a new one at a good price. You can either buy it on its own or as a "Studio Kit" complete with USM shockmount.

045003_RISK_USML_TLM103.jpg

Thanks for the replies. As I implied in my opening post I do have a cheap pop filter but that wasn't enough to do the trick, so I invested in slightly more expensive (I don't know if there will be any difference) and if it still doesn't work I'll try Richard's idea and combine them. And also I could try gecko's 2. idea and sing even less directly to the mic than currently.

You could also try singing across the mic. There'll be no sibilence or plosives unless you sing out of the side of your mouth !

Hi =)