Keyboards for recording

fenderlady

Here is my dilema:

I am relatively new to keyboards, I've played other peoples keyboards and dinked around with them at stores and such.

Over the last 6 months I have been putting together a home studio. It has some fairly high end equipment in it. Just so you know what I have:

Allen&Heath MixWizard 16:2
MOTU 828mkII
Studio Projects C1 and B3 mics
Sonar 5 Producer
Marshall MG100DFX
Behringer Ultrabass 300
BFD drum module

I've been wanting a midi controller for the BFD module, and of course a decent to good keyboard. I really had not looked a lot with Xmas coming and of course after coughing up $300 for the BFD module.

My husband decided to go ebaying and ended up getting me a used Yamaha PSR-290. It had nothing with it, so no power supply (minor problem, I can get that easy enough). My problem is I don't think it sounds very good at all. The piano is weak, and lets not even go there with the synth or instrument sounds.

What are your thoughts?

Should I just get a Alesis midi controller? Or should I go for a higher end keyboard that can still do midi and of course the piano and other sounds. Maybe like a Alesis QS8.2? Or a Yamaha S90 or Motif? Maybe a Roland?

I'd like to hear what other people think!

Kristi

Go Roland!

I just got a new Roland RS-70 synth/workstation, and I love it! Roland has always had great sounds, and the RS-70 is easier to use than my previous Korg N364 which I just retired. Recording on the Korg was always a pain - the Roland is much easier with it's Quick Sequencer. The pianos are especially good.

They were just discontinued, and Musicians' Friend (huge website which is the on-line division of Guitar Center) is selling the last remaining ones for $629 brand new with free shipping.

That's only $129 more than tha Alesis QS6.2 which doesn't have a sequencer (or $29 more than the Roland Juno D, which is also not a workstation) - it's a great deal.

Bump... Any other thoughts!