keyboard for Jazz

Karel Lootens

Hello,

I'd like to buy a decent Keyboard to play Jazz piano and maybe synthesize some other instruments so I can reproduce some of the tunes that keep floating in my head :)

I don't have room to put a real piano and mic it, so I'm looking for a good keyboard for a reasonable price (I am still a student so my budget is rather limited. There is no hurry however, I can save up a bit for something at least worthwile.)

and eum... what does MIDI do?

Karel

Karel-

There are a lot of great keyboards out there. For anyone to give you good advice I think we need more information.

Budget? Can you give us SOME idea how much you're willing to spend? A ballpark figure at least.

Your options are keyboard workstations like the Motif, Fantom and Triton; a separate controller keyboard and either modules or soft-synths on your computer or; you could consider getting something used. All the workstations sound good and all are available in several configurations with a range of prices. A separate controller and modules might make sense if you got something used. That would keep costs down. Soft-synths are also generally less expensive than their hardware counterparts. In fact, there are a lot of free VST and DX instruments out there.

If keyboard feel is important to you (and it should be), then you'll need to play as many different keyboards as you can before you can begin to narrow the field.

Sorry to be so vague, but there are a lot of keyboards out there.

MIDI- Musical Instrument Digital Interface

This has been covered countless times. I'll give you a quick answer, but if you take the time to do a search here or on Google, you will find a wealth of information.