Keyboard advise

mysticfalcon

I'm new to the whole keybord scene but it's something that has interested me for years. I havent had the time or money for a while since i just built my own house but now that is over and i would really like to learn how to play. I have about $300 i can afford to spend so i was looking at the yamaha DGX202 and the EZ250. The lighted keys on the EZ seem apealing but I'm not sure for how long they would be helpful so if i would only need them for a few months then I would regret not buying the nicer keyboard. The DGX still has the Learnig programs and more keys and more features so i know that after time i would be happier with that. what do you guys think?

I'm new here, but have been playing for a long time.

My advice would be to purchase based on 1) Which keyboard sounds the best. That would include the number/variety of sounds, ability to generate viable rhythm accompaniment in various styles, etc.2) Which one has the best feeling keyboard (this is highly subjective- you might want to take someone with you who knows how to play). 3)MIDI capability for future expansion and 4) Features to assist you in learning how to play.

I would consider those in that order.

Features are nice and that's what they want to sell you on, but, truth is, that if the thing sounds or feels like crap, you won't want to play it anyway and you'll never learn. You are much better off getting the best sounding device you can afford.

My .02

Ted