Just tell me so I can get on with it!

gibson59neck

Villiage Idiot Keeper
I am a guitarist. I like to play and create my own music. I have been trying to find a simple step by step answer to this question - How can I make recordings of myself on the computer? I cannot stand how many terms and references people use to talk about recording. I just need to know what I need, and why, in English. For example, I have Guitar Tracks Pro, a 32 track studio program form Cakewalk. I plug my guitar into my Dell soundboard, and the whole thing sounds like crap. It distorts, and it takes part of a second to hear what I am playing come out of the computer speakers. I FREAKING HATE IT!

Every thing I look at says it's easy and sounds good, but I guess I'm really freaking dense, because I can't figure any of it out. I have a Boss DR770 Drum Machine that you need to be both a music professor and a military computer programmer to operate - I almost lit the manual on fire yesterday just to watch it burn because it was so frustrating. The terms they use are not familiar to me, sentence after sentence, step after step. It's stuff that I might have learned if I went to music school, but I just played, and have been playing for 23 years. I have finally gotten to where I think I sound decent enough and now I have some songs I want to record.

I need to be able to plug in, hit record, play, and then go back, hit record again, and add to it. I need drum tracks that are easy ( I mean, really easy, for stupid people like me) to program, and I need the whole thing to sound good when I'm done, so I can burn it and go around in the car listening to myself as if I'm a star.

Seriously - I cannot understand why they make it so hard to figure out - I own a four track, but where the hell can you play tapes anymore? Plus, it sounds like crap. What is the easiest, least inexpensive way to record yourself with a drum track, a bass track, and maybe even some keys or vocals?