just looking for honest feedback

shortedaman

Avid Audio Analyst
ive been recording the guys for several months now. im sure you can tell from the mp3's that the performances might be lacking. however i would like honest feedback in terms of tracking and mixing. so far this is only a rough mix. i dont have the greatest room or speakers. so please, especially those of you with decent rooms :) let me know what problems you find. thanks!

the tracks are intro, runaway, and conquerors.

http://www.soundclick.com/dhsh

Those mixes are awful. I sure hope you're not charging them for that.

The main problem is obvious - it just sounds like a couple mics in a live room while the band haphazardly runs through a song. It's a mush of noise, bad sounds, and clashing frequencies. No clarity, no depth, no seperation, no good. You need to multi-track.

are these multi tracked?

Id agree with Greg that it does all sit together and sounds muddy, there's no separation or depth...this sounds like its just a quick recording made in a room live, from what I can hear :o

Start giving each track its volume, then pan them out, then EQ them if needed, then give them some depth, reverb/delay, if needed....just following simple steps should give them more separation..

dunno much about the genre but the performance sounds good, so at least theres the foundation..

can I suggest reading Mixing Audio by Roey Inzahi...informative without being wordy, and well worth the time put aside to read

yea everything is multi tracked except for the drums. i had to sum them through my mixer to my interface. i only have two inputs. could yall maybe be more specific? im trying here.

Id work on the drums first...EQ them so that kick and snare are punching through (this is all going to be going on in the 100-250Hz region)...then match the bass in with them..listening to it Id EQ it some gain around the 800-1kHz...then bring the guitars in on them...