just got delta 66/omni studio today, installing/cable setup questions

ambi

I just recieved my soundcard today! YEA finally the jump from the SBLIVE!!!

Now i'm not sure if i should just ditch the SB all together, or keep it in there?

Also i don't think there is a mini input on the delta 66, so i'll have to buy some sort of usb midi thing. I get a terrible latency with the SB, so in logic audio with Pro 52 i can't really record things.

Any idea's on this? Keep the sb? Ditch it? I see no reason to keep it other than gaming, but i don't game that much. Also i'm using 4.1 klipsch pro media speakers right now for everything (i know i know, i'm a poor student i can't afford monitors yet).

So i might just use to 2 front speakers and the sub, i see no point in using the back 2 speakers. So i'd just get a stereo female 1/8' - 2 1/4 mono cable. So i could use 2 of the outputs from the delta for the speakers for now.

thanks! I haven't had time to try installing it yet, but i'm sure there will be some bugs to work out. I'll keep you all updated!

I did the same a couple of years ago - finally had to ditch the SBLive 'cos my consumer apps (and Giga Sampler - go figger) insisted on attaching to it and couldn't find the Delta.

This was under WME - your software and OS might be smarter now. I'd love to get SBLive back - all those Soundfonts gathering dust - but given all the conflicts I encountered, the sacrifice was worth it.

Daf (who has a soft sampler that reads Soundfonts, just needs some damn TIME!!!)

Ah ok.

Yea i have winxp.

Also one curiosity, i have all of my projects in logic audio, under 16 bit because of the SB live.

Can i switch my current projects to 24 bit? I'll keep it at the same frequency 44.1 or 48, whatever the default it. But i'd like to record new things into my current songs in 24 bit.

Does this work? OR do i have to keep all of the current songs in 16 bit, and do the new ones in 24 bit?

ambi said:
Ah ok.

Yea i have winxp.