Just got a Tascam 388!!! Excitement.

I'm thrilled to announce that I just purchased what appears to be (to a 388 newbie at least...) an exceptionally clean Tascam 388. All VU meters light, and everything else that I could test at the previous owner's house seems to work just like it should!

I have a demagnetizer, i have head cleaner and swabs and all that from my 244 mkII... What else do I need?

Oh right. Tape.

I work at Guitar Center and can order tape from RMGI. What do I get? I think I've read somewhere that 457 is the tape to go with, but I don't even know what that number means- I have ZERO experience with reel-to-reel anything. The only 457 tape that shows up in our system right now is from Quantegy, and I can't order through them anymore.

Anyone have any beef with RMGI? If I call them up and ask what their model number is for a 7" reel of 1/4 x 1800 tape is, are they going to laugh at me for asking such a retarded question, or is that all I need to know?

Thanks for the help... This is my first excursion into tape outside of my tascam 4 track and 8 track cassette recorders, which I completely love... This is going to be a nice step up from those and should impose a certain vibe and a modest quaintness that I can't get through my Toft and Reaper. I'm extremely excited to have the oportunity to play around with something like this, I just want to make sure I'm doing it right!

Congrats.

Exciting indeed!

The RMGI equivalent of 457 is LPR35. Good stuff. I have no qualms in telling you to go for it and get some.

What kind of demagnetizer do you have?

Congrats.

Exciting indeed!

The RMGI equivalent of 457 is LPR35. Good stuff. I have no qualms in telling you to go for it and get some.

What kind of demagnetizer do you have?