Just bought Sonar 7 producer and cant hear anything!!

musicaldrops

I've been playing guitar for 20 years and recording on a Korg d1600 for the past 7 years. I just purchased Sonar 7 and i'm using a PC with an ATHLON AMD, VISTA 64, 4 gigs of ram ,and installed SOUND BLASTER FATALITY X-fi plus a nice NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS graphics card.

My question is; Can someone explain to me in plain terms how to get sound out of the damm thing?? Tech support has not helped.I'm not very comp. elit. Sonar is telling me that my drivers might be used by something else. Can anyone walk me through the steps to correct the problem??
Mike

Last edited:
Since it could be just about anything at all that is snagging you up I think you should just RTFM and engage in trial and error, statr from the start etc etc....seriously...it's the best way.

Since it could be just about anything at all that is snagging you up I think you should just RTFM and engage in trial and error, statr from the start etc etc....seriously...it's the best way.
Thanks for the comment but i'm not very good at the computer.I'm not sure what RTFM means. Is it possible to give me a short walk through? I'm willing to try anything

RTFM = Basically, to read through the manual(s).

Is the soundcard working ok in another application other than Sonar? Like playing a .wav file or CD in Media Player/Winamp/Real Player?

As part of Sonar installation, did it instruct you to run Wave Profiler?

RTFM (read the fucking manual)

Not a very patient thing to say. In the top menu tool bar click options/audio.
Select the Soundblaster as both input and playback device. Close Sonar. Re-start Sonar and see if the options you just chose remained. If they did, the Sonar has recognised your device. If they did not, run the audio profiler again. Check to see if any audio drivers are available.